Chakra Beads: What They Mean and How to Use Them

Align, Balance, Activate, and Unblock your Chakras

You may know the chakras like the back of your hand, or maybe you’ve never even heard the word before. Regardless of your knowledge, we’ve always got you covered here at Beadworks. We love helping our customers find the gemstones that will meet their metaphysical healing needs. Then we make wearable healing jewelry and everyone looks and feels better!

7 Chakras

1st Chakra

Muladhara or Root Chakra. This is located at the base of the spine and represents your connection to your physical body and your relationship to the Earth and environment. Feelings associated with this chakra are stability, security, and basic human instincts (survival instincts). The Color associated with the Root Chakra is red, so some good gemstone beads to help you heal are Coral, Garnet, Bloodstone, Ruby, and Smoky Quartz.

2nd Chakra

Svadhisthana or Sacral Chakra. This chakra is located just below the bellybutton, so it naturally relates to reproduction & sexuality, as well as creativity and joy. The color for this chakra is orange, so any gemstone bead like carnelian or fire opal would be perfect for unblocking creativity and bringing back passion to your life.

3rd Chakra

Manipura or Solar Plexus Chakra. Feeling down on yourself? Need a boost in confidence and self-esteem? Get yourself some yellow gemstone beads like citrine, amber, tigers eye, ametrine, golden rutilated quartz, or honey opal. They will help you strengthen your core and amplify the ability to love yourself for who you are.

4th Chakra

Anahata or Heart Chakra. This is located, you guessed it, in the heart. This also unites the upper and lower chakras and acts as a sort of bridge between the physical, spiritual and emotional. If you need a little more self love in your life, look for some green gemstone beads such as malachite, green toumaline, emerald, jade, chrysoprase and peridot. Rose quartz, though it’s not green, represents love which makes it a great gemstone for the heart chakra.

5th Chakra

Vishuddha or Throat Chakra. If you are having issues with how you communicate with others or how you receive information, and the way you talk to yourself, you may need some alignment in your throat chakra. Look for some blue gemstones for this like blue topaz, blue kyanite or turquoise.

6th Chakra

Ajna or Third Eye Chakra. This is located in the center of the forehead and helps you dig deep into your intuition. If you have some repressed emotions you need to release, this is the chakra to focus on healing. Indigo is the color for this chakra, so look for some cool colored gemstone beads like amethyst, fluorite, quartz, and lapis lazuli.

7th Chakra

Sahasrara or Crown Chakra. The final chakra is located at the crown of the head, because we’re all royalty really. This chakra connects us with the universe, our higher self, and the divine. Look for anything purple to activate this chakra, but clear crystals are also excellent. Selenite, clear quartz, amethyst and even diamonds are great stones associated with this chakra.

Whatever project you’re working on, you can incorporate the colors of the chakras to help bring deeper meaning to your handmade jewelry. Come by the shop and check out our chakra section, or feel free to look through the whole store to find gemstone beads that will help you work through any blockages that may be occurring within you. Our staff will happily help and guide you just ask. Email us if youd like is to ship any gemstone strands to you.. we ship anywhere in the US.