How the 7 Chakras can offer a Spiritual Path to Wellness

chakra gemstone beads arranged in palm

The concept of chakras can be traced back to ancient Indian texts, particularly the Vedas and the Upanishads, which date back to around 1500 BCE. The concept of chakras was further developed in the Tantric tradition, which emerged in India around the 6th century CE. Tantric texts describe the chakras as energy centers that correspond to specific physical, emotional, and spiritual functions, and they provide detailed instructions for practices such as yoga, meditation, and mantra chanting that are designed to activate and balance the chakras.

In the 1960s and 1970s, the concept of chakras became popular in the New Age movement, which was characterized by a focus on spirituality, personal growth, and alternative healing practices and the concept of chakras became widely recognized and accepted in Western culture. Today, the concept of chakras is widely recognized in many spiritual and healing traditions around the world, and it continues to be an important tool for personal growth, healing, and spiritual development. While the concept of chakras has evolved over time and has been interpreted in different ways by different traditions, its fundamental principles remain the same: that the body is composed of energy centers that are connected to our physical, emotional, and spiritual well-being, and that by balancing and activating these centers, we can enhance our overall health and well-being.

What does each Chakra represent? How do they work together?

The chakras are interconnected and work together to create a balanced and harmonious flow of energy throughout the body. The flow of energy begins at the Root Chakra at the base of the spine and when properly balanced and aligned, the life energy prana moves up through each chakra and out through the crown chakra to connect with the universal energy. This flow of energy is often referred to as the Kundalini energy or the awakening of the life force. It is therefore critical for each chakra to be balanced and open for someone to realize complete wellness and connectedness.

There are several ways to balance the chakras, including meditation, yoga, and energy healing practices such as Reiki. We love using colorful gemstone charms and beads to beautifully balance and activate our chakras as we move through our day.

Build Safety and Security with the Root Chakra

root chakra symbol

The root chakra at the base of the spine establishes the deepest connections with your physical body, environment, and the Earth. It is the base of our human instinct for survival, security, and stability. 

Red is the color of the Root Chakra so red gemstones beads and charms can channel this energy. Traditional stones are Bloodstone and Ruby. Choose RED to heal or balance this chakra like our Rhodolite Garnet or Ruby gemstone charms.

Connect and Create with the Sacral Chakra

sacral chakra symbol

The sacral chakra is located just below the navel and relates to reproduction on a physical level, creativity and joy, and relationships on an emotional level, and our energy and passions on a spiritual level. It is the seat of sexuality and creativity and is said to govern our ability to feel pleasure and joy. When the sacral chakra is balanced, we’re able to express ourselves creatively and connect with our emotions in a healthy way.

Orange symbolizes the Sacral Chakra so look for gemstones that capture that vibrance like Orange Kyanite, Fire Opal gemstone charms, and Mandarin Garnet gemstone beads.

Claim your Power with the Solar Plexus Chakra

Solar Plexus Chakra

The solar plexus chakra is the center of willpower, self-esteem, self-discipline, as well as personality. Located between the navel and sterum, it is the core of our personality and governs manifestation, creativity, and feeling centered. The solar plexus chakra is said to govern our ability to assert ourselves and take action in the world. When the solar plexus chakra is balanced, we feel confident and capable, and we’re able to pursue our goals with determination.

Glowing Yellow is the color of this Chakra. Gemstones are Citrine, Amber, Yellow Topaz,  Ametrine, and Yellow Sapphire gemstone charms.

Open and Receive with the Heart Chakra

heart chakra symbol

The heart chakra is located in the center of the chest and is associated with love, compassion, and connection. It’s represented by the color green and is said to govern our ability to give and receive love. When the heart chakra is balanced, we’re able to connect with others in a deep and meaningful way, and we’re able to give and receive love freely.

Anahata is in the middle of the seven Chakras and unites the lower Chakras of Matter and the upper Chakras of Spirit. The Heart Chakra is a bridge between our body, mind, emotions, and spirit and the source of love and connection. Verdant green is the color of the Heart Chakra. Gemstones are Malachite, Green Tourmaline, Emerald,  Chrysoprase and Peridot.

Speak your Truth with the Throat Chakra

The throat chakra is located in the throat and is associated with communication and self-expression. It’s represented by the color blue and is said to govern our ability to express ourselves clearly and honestly. When the throat chakra is balanced, we’re able to communicate effectively and express ourselves authentically.

The Throat Chakra governs our ability to express and communicate clear thoughts and ideas. It is also related to truth, personal integrity and the ability to trust others. Light blue is the color of the Throat Chakra and common gemstones are Blue Topaz, and Turquoise

Build your Intuition with your Third Eye Chakra

third eye chakra symbol

The third eye chakra is located in the center of the forehead, between our eyebrows and is associated with intuition and spiritual awareness. It’s represented by the color indigo and is said to govern our ability to access our inner wisdom and intuition. When the third eye chakra is balanced, we’re able to connect with our higher self and access our intuition in a clear and accurate way.

The Third Eye Chakra helps you tap into your inner guidance and divine vision. This Chakra deals with developing intuitive clarity, releasing repressed emotions and attaining self realization. The Third Eye’s deep saturated dark blue hue is beautifully captured by Blue Kyanite and Blue Sapphire.

Reach Enlightenment with your Crown Chakra

crown chakra symbol

The crown chakra is located at the top of the head and is associated with spiritual connection and enlightenment. It’s said to govern our ability to connect with the divine and access higher states of consciousness. When the crown chakra is balanced, we’re able to connect with our higher self and experience a deep sense of peace and spiritual connection.

The “thousand-petaled lotus” connects us with the universe. Purple or White are the colors for this chakra so there are a wide variety of gemstones; Opal, Clear Quartz, Amethyst or anything Purple!